Gambia

This medical mission trip was inspired by my parents, who I lost suddenly a couple years ago. When I was growing up, my parents were heavily involved in community service, so I figured what better way to honor their memory. Although I grew up in Michigan, Gambia is where my parents originated from, and I call home.

Gambia is the smallest African country surrounded by Senegal on three sides and the Atlantic Ocean on the 4th. There are four major hospitals functioning at a tertiary level, 36 health centers on a secondary level, 492 Health posts on a primary level as well as 34 Non-government organization/private clinics. Government Healthcare facilities are free, however, supply is scares, and these locations are mostly frequented by those who cannot afford private clinics.

Most of the medical supply donated for the trip was acquired from Saint Luke’s Warren Hospital, along with two other online nonprofit organizations. Together the supplies weighted approximately 2200 pounds. Some of the barriers encountered during this process include detailed paperwork and international shipping costs, both of which, General Surgeon, Dr Sharpe, played an instrumental role in helping make possible. Through coordination with a local Non-governmental organization in the Gambia, the supplies were successfully transported through airport customs.

During my 10 days trip, over 500 patients were seen and treated, the majority of whom received 3 to 5 months of medication supply to help with continuity. Some of the items include asthma meds and nebulizer machines, blood pressure medications… thiazide diuretics, ACE inhibitors, calcium channel blockers, beta blocker, blood pressure machines, antibiotics, seizure medications, metformin, sulfonylureas, glucometers, blood sugar test strips, wound care bandages, sutures, gauzes, Betadine,, scalpels, intubation trays, IV lines, IV fluids, foley catheters, acid reflux medications, sterile gloves, oxygen tubes, umbilical cord clamps, alcohol swabs, Nsaids, suture removal kits, face masks, gowns, bed pads, casting tape, ankle braces, syringes, medical text books.

As I reflect on this journey, the words of my mom resonated with me, “on your way up the ladder, always pick up somebody else.” This trip has made me a believe that every little bit makes a difference, ringing true to the old African proverb that “When spider webs unite, they can tie up a lion.

Dr. Naffie Ceesay

Leave a comment